Amur's Blog

Dragons are real, and they are blue.

Sometimes the most beautiful things in life are ignored. Sometimes, even the simple sound of a word in our ears makes us stop listening because of the stereotypes associated with it. For example, if I tell you think of a beautiful mollusk,you’ll probably look at me like I am crazy because you”ll probably think of something like this :

Common Snail

Common Snail

 

To me it would still be beautiful because I love nature but to many is just a plain, squishy being.

However, what if I were to show you what I was actually thinking of:

Blue Dragon mollusk

Blue Dragon mollusk

 

Yes, I know, but no, it is real, I did my homework and found a ton of information about this beautiful creature. I introduce to you the mighty “Blue Dragon” also known in the science world as “Glaucus Atlanticus.”

This Pokemon, I mean, this mollusk can be found of course in the exotic waters of East and South Coast of South Africa, European waters, the east coast of Australia and Mozambique.

From what I’ve read is pretty tiny, only 3 centimeters long but it is feisty. It’s main food source is the much larger and venomous “Man o’ war”. If you click the link it’ll take you to a blog that has some pretty cool photos of the blue dragons having a feast. Some other interesting blogs such as “This is the story of…” and “The red pen of doom” also have some info and photos about Blue Dragons. Oh and here is a bonus if you’re still not convinced…

Did you like the animal? Did I make you look it up some more? Let me know and comment below!

This entry was published on February 24, 2013 at 6:03 am. It’s filed under curiosities and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

